Where is My Mojo

Just an Observation

In Swim, Triathlons on June 26, 2012 at 6:30 PM

For some reason it never occurred to me that my goggles could split in half. This morning during my 2,450 yard workout, these things were pending from a little thin piece of the rubber that makes them a whole. Luckily I had another pair of Barracuda HydroBat Racing Goggles in my swim bag. These are my favorite brand and model of goggles by far… not that I’ve used them ALL, but so far, these make me happy.

Anyway, some reason I never thought these little things would break, neither swim caps. Yes, swim caps break too, if you didn’t know. I’ve already broken one of my favorites… it was neon green and said “Got Chlorine?” The cap, too, split opened in half one day after a swim. That’s why I always carry two of everything that has to do with swimming, especially two pairs of goggles for races. However, I often wonder what can I possibly do when the swim starts and I have a goggle malfunction… it’s not like I can yell “Wait! Stop the race! I need to rush to transition for an extra pair of goggles!” I think at that point I’d be pretty much screwed and would have to suck it up.

So here’s to my mirrored Barracuda’s. Thanks for training and racing for me for the past…??? six months? Now it’s time to go to Trijungle and restock before my next swim.

My Barracuda Goggles

  1. Me too. On pair number two looking to buy pair number three in advance.

    • Since the original post, I have three more goggles. I carry them all in my bag just in case. If I’m doing open water swim, they all behave well. But when I’m in the pool, that’s when problems arise… I push too hard from the wall so there’s a lot of water pressure trying to get in. Thanks for reading and thanks for your comment.

Leave a Reply

