Where is My Mojo

A Work of Pure Fiction

In Triathlons on February 14, 2013 at 9:49 PM

Just like yesterday, tonight’s entry is not about triathlon. But it’s about my friend and Alien Endurance teammate, Edith Freni, who is a very talented woman. So in a way, it is triathlon related…

Edith is not only a kick-ass triathlete – she’s placed in many races – she is also: 1) a playwright, 2) a boxer, 3) an excellent cook, 4) an ice skater in her younger years, 5) a blogger and 6) an all encompassing New York (not too sure this is all too good).

Today I got to experience Edith as a playwright, and all I can say is that it was extremely awesome. She created the play “A Work of Pure Fiction” inspired in the 5th century Greek play “The Clouds” by Aristophanes. Edith’s play is “a “what if” rumination on the nature of love, friendship and the quest for immortality.” The play was commissioned by the University of Miami where she teaches playwriting and script analysis. Of course, this being her interpretation/adaptation, those who know her heard “her voice” in every line of the script. I swear it was like bike riding with her while chatting about everything life. It was great to hear her through the different characters and voices in the play. Each had a little Edith in their role.

Needless to say I am very proud of her and cannot wait to experience more playwright Edith in the near future, as well as Triathlete Edith, Chef Edith and Blogger Edith. I hope to never upset her too much, as I wouldn’t want Boxer Edith to present herself before me. And if there was something that I would’ve love to experience is Ice Skating Edith. But I guess I will have to be content with having seen old pictures of her in her outfits.

Lastly, if you are in the Miami area, I suggest you go to see the play at UM everyday at 5pm until this Sunday.

Thanks for reading.

  1. this is the best review I’ve ever gotten!

    • Oh, come on! That’s sweet, but I don’t believe you. You rocked it today. So proud of you. Was so excited at some points was teary eyed. I think I’m getting old and sentimental. LOL Can’t wait for more!

  2. I wanna meet Edith. I know I’ll like her.

Leave a Reply

